rather bizarre problem....
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: rather bizarre problem....

  1. #1
    Purveyor of Lather Syini666's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    553

    Exclamation rather bizarre problem....

    Okay, this is a little different from my last post. I recently bought a network adapter for my laptop, a Netgear FA411 to be exact, and for some unknown reason it dosent seem to like my computer, which runs Red Hat 6.1. I followed their help files to the T. I run netconfig to set up my ip and netmask, and when i hit enter to commit to the info, I get a message "Segmentation Fault (core dumped). I've been trying to figure it out myself, but I'm at a total loss on this one, so any help is greatly appreciated.
    You're not your post count, You're not your avatar or sig, You're not how fast your internet connection is, You are not your processor, hard drive, or graphics card. You're the all-singing, all-dancing crap of AO
    09 F9 11 02 9D 74 E3 5B D8 41 56 C5 63 56 88 C0

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    800
    did you check red hats webpage to see if it will support that card?
    [gloworange]\"A hacker is someone who has a passion for technology, someone who is possessed by a desire to figure out how things work.\" [/gloworange]

  3. #3
    Priapistic Monk KorpDeath's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    2,628
    Sounds like a driver issue. Like casper says you need to check for support.
    Mankind have a great aversion to intellectual labor; but even supposing knowledge to be easily attainable, more people would be content to be ignorant than would take even a little trouble to acquire it.
    - Samuel Johnson

  4. #4
    Purveyor of Lather Syini666's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    553
    I checked it before I bought it, and it says its compatible with Red Hat 6.1 and 6.2
    You're not your post count, You're not your avatar or sig, You're not how fast your internet connection is, You are not your processor, hard drive, or graphics card. You're the all-singing, all-dancing crap of AO
    09 F9 11 02 9D 74 E3 5B D8 41 56 C5 63 56 88 C0

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    712
    It says it's compatible, as in NetGear thinks it'll work... but have you actually found the driver on the RedHat site? I seem to remember that some generic drivers such as NE2000 or one of the more common 3Com cards will probably work, too... but, then again, I tend to shun RedSplat myself.
    \"Windows has detected that a gnat has farted in the general vicinity. You must reboot for changes to take affect. Reboot now?\"

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    1,210
    i looked around a bit.. didn't see anything much but i came across this site
    http://www.linux-laptop.net/
    which has a discussion link
    http://www.linux-on-laptops.com/discussion.html

    maybe someone there might have a suggestion or two..

    hope this helps..

  7. #7
    Purveyor of Lather Syini666's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    553
    i decided to give the ne2000 driver a shot, but when when i did insmod ne.o it gave me this back:

    ne.o unresolved symbol ei_open
    ne.o unresolved symbol ethdev_init
    ne.o unresolved symbol ei_interrupt
    ne.o unresolved symbol NS8390_init
    ne.o unresolved symbol ei_close

    ive got no idea what all that means.
    You're not your post count, You're not your avatar or sig, You're not how fast your internet connection is, You are not your processor, hard drive, or graphics card. You're the all-singing, all-dancing crap of AO
    09 F9 11 02 9D 74 E3 5B D8 41 56 C5 63 56 88 C0

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    1,210
    i don't know but unresolved symbols would usually mean it needs recompiling under the kernel you're using..

    but if i was you.. i'd be be searching with google.. google is your friend. (don't forget the newsgroups)
    and it appears as you aren't the only one who has had this issue.


    http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&i...=Google+Search

    http://groups.google.com/groups?q=ne...F8&sa=N&tab=wg

  9. #9
    It is possible there could be some unresolved dependencies for the modules. Try using modprobe instead.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •