Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Help with partitions

AntiOnline Newbie

Help with partitions

Hello. Ok i have a 40g hard drive I partitioned it into two 20g hrad drives. Now here is where it messes up. it lets me put WinMe on the first drive and run grate but when I try to put WinMe on the other half it say that I already have a OS on my system. So i tried Win 98 and it say that I have a newer OS on my system. After thanking for some time becouse I am very new at this I thought I would try to put Window2000 and it would let me download it but only on the same drive as my WinMe. So know I set here with Winme on half a brain and the other is just there. What can I do? I would like to put WinMe on both parts as I will be useing the 2nd part to test software and programs. Any info will help. Thanks

Wortcraft

you dont need to have an OS on each partition...and you should be able to access/manipulate the second partition from ME, so i'm not really sure what your question is...
    -8-

There are 10 types of people in this world: those who understand binary, and those who dont.

What program did you use to partition? Maybe you didn't fully seperate your partitions, they may still be linked. Happened to me before when I used fdisk, my redhat corrupted some files in my windows95. Try getting partition magic, worked well for me.

AntiOnline Newbie
    Ok I did a debug and took everything out and then it ask me did I want to partition so I did that when there was nothing in the computter. Then after a restart I had to boot with me WinMe disk. And it say I had to format the drive so I did and them it put WinMe on it then it say I had to format drive D so I did then that was it. It would not let me put it on drive D. I dont know of any other way to do it.

wortcraft

What program are you using????

AntiOnline Newbie