More PERL Help...

Thread: More PERL Help...

Banned

More PERL Help...

Hmmm, I have a challenge (To me at least)...
    I need to make a perl program that reads the contentc of a text file and then prints them with a prefix (an incrementing number in front of each line)
    This is my code so far
    PHP Code:
    #!/usr/bin/perl
    #
    #
    $file '/root/perl/food';
    open(INFO$file);
    @
    lines = <INFO>;
    close(INFO);
    $i 0;
    foreach (@
    lines)
    {
    print 
    "$i $_";

I got this far with much help, I know I need to make the $i variable increment every line, and I also know that I have to use $i++ to do it, I just dont know where top put it and why..... The file that is stated exists and has lines in it.... If anyone knows this please give me a hint or a tip... If your gonna give me the answer PLEASE explain it first.... Thanks in advance

PS - Im just learning PERL so no wise cracks about the code

str34m3r
    Well, if you want the numbers in the file to start at 0, then you would put it immediately after the print statement but before the curly brace. Then the program will print your first line of text with a zero in front, then increment to one, then go to the next line of text and begin the loop again. The curly braces work just like they do in C, even though the foreach structure is new and different. Just think of it like a for loop where perl handles most of the work for you.

And if you wanted the numbers to start at one (which makes more sense to me), then you would need to increment the variable right before the print statement. Did this help?

Edit: And don't forget your semicolon after the $i++

Another approach (not to confuse you) is to shove a while loop right in the middle...

...something like...

Code:
    while ( <FILEHANDLE> ){
      print( "$i: $_\n" );
      $i++;
    }
    \"Windows has detected that a gnat has farted in the general vicinity. You must reboot for changes to take affect. Reboot now?\"