TCP ques.

Thread: TCP ques.

Question TCP ques.

I am just starting to learn nmap. The documentation talks
    about SYN|ACK's and RST's, etc. is there a way to open up a
    command line and use these commands like ftp
    or like telneting to a mail server?

What tool would you use for that?

Where is a good place to find those commands?

Is this a useful place to be concentrating studies?

SYN ACK and RST are different flags on a TCP packet.

You can't use them directly from the command line (it would not be useful because there are a lot of parameters and most sequences have a timeout), but there are programs which can generate arbritary packets from the command line - which may be useful when testing particular OS TCP properties under "laboratory" conditions (but very tedious if you want to "scan" and check if your machines are vulnerable or test firewalls)

Protocols like telnet and ftp run at a higher layer than TCP flags and they are invisible to them (if implemented correctly)

Programs like nmap may use the flags in sequences and/or combinations other than those documented in the relevant RFCs in a an attempt to stealthily acquire information about the remote machine (Open ports, OS etc)

> What tool would you use for that?
    If you want to send test packets you can use tool 48 of
    lcrzoex. Then by sniffing with tool 295, you 'll see

> Is this a useful place to be concentrating studies?
    I think the best way to learn is to practice.

I suggest you to read :
    and to test every tool of lcrzoex.

Like this, you'll learn :
    - Ethernet/IP
    - tcp/udp clients/servers
    - spoof
    - sniff
    - etc.

Lcrzoex is at :

Most of those things are automated for a reason, and like was said before, those are tcp flags so they are attached to the tcp packet. You may want to write tcp packets, which is something that you may need raw socket support to accomplish.