formatting c:?
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: formatting c:?

  1. #1
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    33

    Question formatting c:?

    say I installed linux in my computer and want to uninstall it, do i just
    type FORMAT C: or is it a different command if i wanna uninstall linux and
    install windows back?

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    317
    Not likely. The MS fdisk utility won't see the Linux partitions and subsequently won't format them for you. Recommended: You know the manufacture of your HDD? Go to the website, and grab their low level format utility. It will leave the HDD in a state that is clean and clear.

    Hope this helps. Good luck.

    Regards.
    \"I believe that you can reach the point where there is no longer any difference between developing the habit of pretending to believe and developing the habit of believing.\"


  3. #3
    Go to http://www.powerquest.com/ , download "partition Magic" , delete your linux partition and make a fat partition. That's all.

  4. #4
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    33
    ok thanks

  5. #5
    Suspect, even positive antipoints? wow

  6. #6
    Antionline Quitter..Srsly
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    457
    well partition magic sometimes wont work considering u dont have an OS on the system ...easiet way to do this is get a boot disk delete the linux partition and make a logical DOS partition then put in ur windows cd and it will install it on the DOS partition ...jw why u do u want to get rid of Linux?
    \"\"A weak mind is like a microscope, which magnifies trifling things but cannot receive great ones.\" G.K. Chesterton, 19th-century English essayist and poet\"

  7. #7
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    33
    hehe yeah. I don't want people to think that i'm just posting to higher up my number of post. Some guy traumatized me by giving me 3 negative points in 1 thread lol.

  8. #8
    Webius Designerous Indiginous
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    1,123
    Emrys, Partition Magic has its own boot sectors and can boot from the disks. I have partition magic 5 (I think its 5) and its two disks and will boot without any OS on the system. I used it many times to mess with/create my fat, and ext2 partitions. I mean that is what its for right, make partitions. How can you have an OS without a partition? heh... Perhaps the cd-rom version won't boot, but i think it should have a utility on the cd-rom to make bootable disks, but i could be wrong.

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    2
    In cases like this, I used a tool called gwscan that came on one of my Windows CD's. If you happen to have it, after starting the computer up with the cd in, run gwscan, and there should be an option to "Set 0's to drive" or something like that. Do that, and then try formatting and installing Windows.

    Good luck.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •