Some cookies not being set on 98 box?
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: Some cookies not being set on 98 box?

  1. #1
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    19

    Some cookies not being set on 98 box?

    Hi all

    When trying to login or register on some sites i get a message saying that the cookies are not being accepted!

    Heres what ive tried:

    Installed new v6 of IE
    Set privacy to Low (Accept all cookies)
    Deleted ALL cookies
    Uninstalled McAfee Personal Plus Firewall (Edited registry accordingly)

    But im still experiencing these problems?
    Im not sure what else i can do, apart from reinstalling the OS (which i really dont want to do)

    All suggestions welcome.

    Ta in advance

    L:L

  2. #2

    Re: Some cookies not being set on 98 box?

    Originally posted here by LuaLua
    Heres what ive tried:

    Installed new v6 of IE
    Set privacy to Low (Accept all cookies)
    Uninstalled McAfee Personal Plus Firewall (Edited registry accordingly)
    Hey you've opened your door to every malicious attacker !
    Hurry up and set back your privacy to medium as soon as you can.

    And about you problem, The only thing I can say is just trying with another browser like opera.

  3. #3
    The Iceman Cometh
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    1,210
    I personally use IE6, and have my Privacy Settings set to High. On that same window, however, there is a box labeled "Web Sites". Simply click "Edit" and type any websites that you need to accept cookies from (for example: antionline.com) This will allow your browser to accept the cookies to specific sites while others are blocked.

    AJ

  4. #4
    Top Gun Maverick811's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    852
    Yes, good advice avdven - LuaLua, just be sure that when you do this that you completely trust the site that you will be accepting the cookie from.
    - Maverick

  5. #5
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    19
    Thanx for the replys.
    Unleashed: I only configured thse to see if that was what was causing the problems, they're back to normal now!
    Avdven: I have tried this but still no joy!

    Any more suggestions people?

    Cheers
    L:L

  6. #6
    The Iceman Cometh
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    1,210
    Honestly... I would try using a different browser. If the problem doesn't appear there, check to make sure that you haven't accidentally made the cookies folder read-only (made that mistake once myself.... long story). Also, do you have any other firewalls or ad-blocking software running which you may have forgotten about?

    AJ

  7. #7
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    19
    Ive no other firewalls installed and no ad-blocking s/w.
    I had upgraded IE from 5.5 to 6 with the same issue.
    I honestly think that the firewall has caused this problem, and the only way to remove this completely is to reinstall windoze or even format c: then do a fresh install (which i really dont want to do)

    What other browser would you recommend avdven?

    Cheers for the replies

    L:L

  8. #8
    Banned
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    55
    lol
    LuaLua> y do u have to Installed new v6 of IE
    Set privacy to Low (Accept all cookies)
    Deleted ALL cookies
    Uninstalled McAfee Personal Plus Firewall (Edited registry accordingly)
    just becos you are trying to login or register on some sites i get a message saying that the cookies are not being accepted.
    what a lane thing to do.
    simple reset your cookies

  9. #9
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    19
    LOL............lane thing to do???
    Reset cookies???
    Is deleting the cookies not just the same as resetting them???

  10. #10
    Senior Member Info_Au's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    273
    Recently i had this problem...Took me 2 reformat's and placing in another hard drive into box only to find that i could still not log into sites even on lowest settings..
    Ended up being i had to "Flash" the BIOS on the motherboard.

    Don't just say formatting will give you a new O/S.Somehow cookies are controlled by the motherboard too!!
    I had used DOS commands on Index.bat in cookies folder to remove it...Damn i tried everything!!
    Check out the BIOS first is my first Thought

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •