Formatting my hard drive!

Thread: Formatting my hard drive!

Angry Formatting my hard drive!

Hey everyone, i know this is a really newbie question, and more than likely a very very very simple question but i've never done this before. Okay, to start my computer has been bugging out on me b/c of sum software i've installed, and lately it's just been running noticebly slower, so i figured that since i have back up's of everything, i could just format my hard drive so i can get a fresh start again. Now the only way i've been told to format my drive is by right-clicking on the c: drive and clicking on format, but when i do that, it says that i need to close down any apps using that drive, and i try to close down every single app using it, but either i'm missing an app to close or sumthin, but it's really bugging me. i don't know how to do this thru dos b/c i haven't been in dos in ages, since my first computer about 6 or 7 years ago. I'm running Win XP, upgraded from WinME (WORST windows ever if you ask me). I have my boot disk that was given to me when i purchased this computer and i have my upgrade disk for win XP. Any help would b greatly appreciative. Thanks alot!!!
    \"But I don\'t want to go among mad people,\" Alice remarked.
    \"Oh, you can\'t help that,\" said the Cat: \"we\'re all mad here. I\'m mad. You\'re mad.\"
    \"How do you know I\'m mad?\" said Alice.
    \"You must be,\" said the Cat, \"or you wouldn\'t have come here.\"

TechieChick
    Hi DJMadhatter...

Your XP cd is bootable and will prompt you to wipe partitions and format then start the load for you.

First item to check is that your bios is set to boot to the cd. As your system starts post, note on the screen what will get you into BIOS. Typically this is f2, DEL or f10. Once in BIOS look for the boot up option and make certain that CD-ROM is the first choice. Once done, drop the XP cd in the drive, save your settings and your system will restart hopefully booting to the CD.