-
September 13th, 2004 12:43 AM
#21
kurt_der_koenig...re-read the pic. It doesn't mean anything. It is telling you that someone attempted to connect to sub seven on your computer. That does not mean you are infected. Your message could have appeared for many reasons.
Also - for everyone that is moaning about the file being a virus - why don't you find an alternative source for the download. I know I wouldn't download a binary off any forum, even AO, unless I was absolutely sure about the person sending it. If someone suggested a program to me and were not willing to send the source, I would not download it from them and would seek out a website for the program, or some other download.
[edit] And for the antivirus lovers: just because you scanned the file and your AV doesn't find any viruses, doesn't mean that there isn't a virus in the file. It is possible that the virus might not have been detected by the AV companies before, and therefore there is no definition for it for the scanner.[/edit]
ac
-
September 13th, 2004 03:34 AM
#22
Junior Member
is there a site or somewhere were I can try out Brutus legally? like letting me crack passwords?
-
September 13th, 2004 03:43 AM
#23
If you have a broadband router you can test brute forcing it’s http or telnet password. Here is a Divx Video showing how to do it with Brutus: http://www.irongeek.com/i.php?page=videos/brutus1
-
September 13th, 2004 03:49 AM
#24
Franklin Werren at www.bagpipes.net
Yes I do play the Bagpipes!
And learning to Play the Bugle 
-
September 13th, 2004 03:53 AM
#25
Darn.... It seems Norton does not like
Brutis .... Even from the orginal source....
Franklin Werren at www.bagpipes.net
Yes I do play the Bagpipes!
And learning to Play the Bugle 
-
September 13th, 2004 07:05 AM
#26
Member
Avant picked up the Brutus download as a Trojan.
There wasn\'t any paper used here, but millions of electrons were terribly inconvenienced
-
September 13th, 2004 02:12 PM
#27
which is what I would expect. Nothing about subseven. When did you get that message, when you ran the Brutus exe?
Yeah but it really doesn't matter! I'm clean, Nortan destoried it and then I scanned my box with swatit and it found nothing!
kurt_der_koenig...re-read the pic. It doesn't mean anything. It is telling you that someone attempted to connect to sub seven on your computer. That does not mean you are infected. Your message could have appeared for many reasons.
I know that but it seems weird that when i opened the zip and played around with it; not a half second later this pops up! nvm, just a question.
-
August 6th, 2008 10:55 PM
#28
Junior Member
-
August 7th, 2008 09:28 PM
#29
brutus has been around for a long time... and hardly works anymore! unless your scanning your own boxes for common passwords this tool is pretty worthless,thanks for the trip down memory lane though lol
-
August 7th, 2008 10:09 PM
#30
Hey ArPaNET,
This thread is 2002 vintage, so it was more relevant then? Right now it is of interest to students only, I would have thought?
It was one of, if not the, greatest brute forcer of back then?...................... next thing someone will mention SubSeven............. and the tears of nostalgia will really flow
If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?
Posting Permissions
- You may not post new threads
- You may not post replies
- You may not post attachments
- You may not edit your posts
Forum Rules
|
|
Bookmarks