Dhcp
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Dhcp

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    16

    Question Dhcp

    On a network if there is a active Dhcp server then the dhcp settings should override static setting???

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    106
    not if you've hardcoded the info. on the machine in question.
    just making some minor adjustments to your system....

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    16
    lets say that your isp uses dhcp but if you staticly assigned a ip to yourself that was in the same subnet you could steal the internet connection of that pc - would that be traceable

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    106
    hmm...depends on what your isp is logging. they could trace your MAC addy.

    btw-since the isp is using dhcp to assign addy's, you might run into issues if someone else on the network is using that same ip already???
    just making some minor adjustments to your system....

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    16
    what if you use a router to spoof you MAC Address - and use the ip at a unsual time - in therory your pc would untraceable

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    106
    not sure why you want to be untraceable?? but in theory, yes.
    just making some minor adjustments to your system....

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •