Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: XP-How secure??

Question XP-How secure??

Good morning everyone....how secure is XP??

This is my question....in comparison to Windows Me,98, or 2000.

I have 2 years experience with computers.
    I keep my system up-to-date in regards to anti-virus & patches.
    I utilize a firewall because I have a cable connection.

Thoughts and/or suggestions ....please!!

tons of fun

In my experience, it's been (in order of preference and security):

1)Win2K
    2)XP
    3)98
    10)ME

Can you tell I hate ME?

2000 is about as secure as a M$ OS can get. Not that that's saying much, but there you go. XP isn't too bad, but I still recommend 2000.
    Just remember: Abraham Lincoln didn\'t die in vain. He died in Washington D.C.

Thank you...DG.

Now, should I opt to stay with FAT32...or NTFS??

I'm going to reformat my disk...No dual boot!!

tons of fun

If you're aren't dual booting, and you want the most security, then NTFS is the onlly way to go. Period. NTFS gives you the ability to lock down individual files (to a point, it is only Microsoft), where FAT32 does not. The only reason to go FAT32 in this case would be if you were dual booting, which you've stated you are not.

Good morning everyone....how secure is XP??

Not very much M$ gave lip service to security and M$'s latest catch phrase is "trust worthy computing"...............
    how about "hack worthy computing?" there you go a new catch phrase lol.

I have 2 years experience with computers.
    I keep my system up-to-date in regards to anti-virus & patches.
    I utilize a firewall because I have a cable connection.

Thoughts and/or suggestions ....please!!

Suggestions:

1) Use Strong Passwords and change them often (at least 24 charecters mixed case puncutation numbers)

2) Setup dshield www.dshield.org or mynetwatchman www.mynetwatchman.com to report attempted hacks and scanning
    that's hostile