Thread: help installing linux mandrake8.2 on new computer

Question help installing linux mandrake8.2 on new computer

im curently downloading linux mandrake 8.2. for my pc i just bought my pc about a month ago. It is a hewlett packard pavillion 750c and has an intell pentium 4 proccessor. I also have a 69 gig hd. Im running windows xp home addition and i have no expeirience with linux. im putting it on for educational puposes. i also have a cable modem hooked to my usb port. Im asking for help with the installation. what is the best partition size and how would i install it without hurting my xp os. will i be able to use my modem through the usb port. im a newbie here and this is my first post. sorry if its in the wrong place or is not clear enough. ill be willing to answer any questions i just need the opinions. thanks ahead of time.

[gloworange]favyan[/gloworange]

fyavan,

Check out the following:

http://www.mandrakeuser.org/docs/index.html (index to Mandrake Documents)
    http://www.mandrakeuser.org/docs/install/i3boot.html (answers your question on dual-boot)

also, to make sure all your hardware is compatible with Mandrake go to:
    http://www.mandrakelinux.com/en/hardware.php3 (see if your modem is supported)

and finally,

alt.os.linux.mandrake (newsgroup) is worth a visit as many people there post common problems and answers to do with Mandrake Linux.

Good Luck and have fun with Linux.

thanks alot ill visit those sites.

you have a couple options, you'll need a shade over a gig for mandrake but mandrakes install is very friendly (friendlier than windows) and it'll use a fat32 partition for itself but I suggest using a program called system commander.
    Alternate realities celebrate reality. If you cant handle the reality your in, then you wont be able to handle the one your attempting to escape to.

Hi,