Problems with IRC & other stuff
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Problems with IRC & other stuff

  1. #1

    Problems with IRC & other stuff

    I am currently at my dad's office computer and it has INET access...BUT I cannot connect to any IRC server(Unable to resolve IRC server)...It is a big network and I got these connections while netstating...:
    TCP 127.0.0.1:1560 0.0.0.0:0 LISTENING
    TCP 127.0.0.1:1134 0.0.0.0:0 LISTENING
    TCP 127.0.0.1:1174 0.0.0.0:0 LISTENING
    TCP 172.16.0.182:1026 172.16.0.1:524 ESTABLISHED
    TCP 172.16.0.182:1028 172.16.0.1:524 ESTABLISHED
    TCP 172.16.0.182:1036 0.0.0.0:0 LISTENING
    TCP 172.16.0.182:9290 0.0.0.0:0 LISTENING
    TCP 172.16.0.182:10588 0.0.0.0:0 LISTENING
    TCP 172.16.0.182:137 0.0.0.0:0 LISTENING
    TCP 172.16.0.182:138 0.0.0.0:0 LISTENING
    TCP 172.16.0.182:139 0.0.0.0:0 LISTENING
    TCP 172.16.0.182:1173 64.4.12.103:1863 ESTABLISHED
    TCP 172.16.0.182:427 0.0.0.0:0 LISTENING
    UDP 0.0.0.0:1035 *:*
    UDP 127.0.0.1:1047 *:*
    UDP 127.0.0.1:1560 *:*
    UDP 127.0.0.1:1134 *:*
    UDP 127.0.0.1:1174 *:*
    UDP 172.16.0.182:1036 *:*
    UDP 172.16.0.182:10588 *:*
    UDP 172.16.0.182:137 *:*
    UDP 172.16.0.182:138 *:*
    UDP 172.16.0.182:427 *:*
    Can someone point out the problem(I think Novell is installed)or tell me what additional information I could provide?Any help will be appreciated.Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Banned
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    522
    well if you say this is a big network.... more then likely they have blocked off the 6667 port (IRC port) so that the employees wont spend their work time chatting in IRC...

    I know alot of offices do that.... there is a way around that, you can look for a bounce server that runs on a different port that will let you connect then bounce off of that onto the IRC server you want. or you can go home and set up a bounce server yourself to a port that allows your dads work computer to connect then next time you are there test it out

  3. #3
    Do you have any ideas where I can find such a bounce server?

  4. #4
    Banned
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    522
    I used to have bounce set up on this computer..... but look for one on google or on yahoo.... just look up "bounce server" or even "BNC server"

    you should find something or the other.

  5. #5
    Thanks.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    657
    u can always try using other ports such as 6668 6669 7000 and see if theylet u connect..

    if not u will have to use a BNC, Bounce, or port redirect
    [shadow]i have a herd of 1337 sheep[/shadow]
    Worth should be judged on quality... Not apperance... Anyone can sell you **** inside a pretty box.. The only real gift then is the box..

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    3
    The problem with a BNC is that you need an account somewhere (to run the BNC) =>>
    if you dont have one, looking on yahoo or google wont help you.
    There was a nice cgi (i think its called "cgi-irc") that does the job for you if you have a homepage somewhere. Undernet had a link on www.undernet.org which allowed you to stay on irc trough your web browser.
    It also might help you to get a free shell which allows you to irc (i think hobbiton.org does that). Just look for "free shell" on google or yahoo and keep in mind that most free shells dont allow you to have background processes (like BNC)
    =>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •