IE password
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: IE password

  1. #1
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    149

    IE password

    i want to make it so that when a user attempts to enter a url in internet explorer, they are asked to enter a user name and password. i was curious if someone knew how to do this without using outside software, but with using the registry/local settings. thanks

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    48
    I haven't heard of any ways to Password protect the URL box, but you can lock it using Active Directory, but that's a little advanced.

    i.e. Requires a dedicated server, and local domain.

    Your best bet is trying to find software on the net, or perhaps write your own code to do it, and upload it so everyone else can reap it's benefits.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    4,786
    In IE6:

    tool>>internet options>>content

    theres a button labeled Enable

    click Enable>>General

    Click on the 'Set Password' button

    with this you can keep everyone from going to any site you haven'y set as approved. drawback is you have to disable this function every time you want to surf, im not sure if you can do this on a user login type basis or not. Sound reasonable enoough to be there though.
    Bukhari:V3B48N826 “The Prophet said, ‘Isn’t the witness of a woman equal to half of that of a man?’ The women said, ‘Yes.’ He said, ‘This is because of the deficiency of a woman’s mind.’”

  4. #4
    AntiOnline Senior Medicine Man
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    724
    Two words : Content Advisory
    It is better to be HATED for who you are, than LOVED for who you are NOT.

    THC/IP Version 4.2

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    458
    All you need to do is get yourself a proxy server, and configure it to force authentication fro users requiring web access, but yet, it does require another box. Unfortunately...

    Is there a reason you are trying to do this?

  6. #6
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    149
    proxy server was my feeling, thanks. im actually trying to undo it, my friend has his internet locked down, and i dont him to try changing a few registry entries, but they didnt seem to exist. for example, you can change the network/logon entry. the thing that makes me believe its a proxy server is that once you enter the URL and push enter or go it prompts for a password. thanks everyone!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •