RH linux after windows me
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: RH linux after windows me

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    21

    Question RH linux after windows me

    hi there.

    i have win me on my box and i want to install linux.
    can i do this ? i have only one physical h.d , with two partitions.

    if i can , how should i do it ?

  2. #2
    The Iceman Cometh
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    1,210
    Simply boot off of the first Red Hat Linux CD and it'll take you through the process step-by-step. I suggest you back up all of your data in case something happens during partitioning which causes you to lose your data. There shouldn't be any problems, but it's always better to be safe then sorry...

    AJ

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    115
    It is very possible... assuming that one of the partitions arent being used you can just install RH Linux in that one. Just plop the CD in & follow the easy instructions at bootup.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    634
    With Win ME there are no problems. You should only verify that Win ME is on the first partition (in order to work properly, it's necessary) and that the second partition begins before the 1024th cylinder of your hdd (I think it's about 8 GO, but verify with a program like Partition Magic Pro). Resize if necessary because if the linux boot sectors are after the 1024th cylinder you, LILO won't work and you will have to boot with boot disk.

    More explanations about this little problem at http://www.antionline.com/showthread...070#post550070
    it's an article from me and there's a little error (sorry), you will have to invert "cylinder" by "sector" and "sector" by "cylinder" in lines 46-48.
    Life is boring. Play NetHack... --more--

  5. #5
    Kwiep
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    924
    I suggest making two partitions after the win ME partition. One at least 1 gb to install RH and one twice your RAM size for the swap space. Use diskdruid wich should be in the redhat install thingie. Don't forget to set the mount point of the 1 GB partition to "/" else it won't go further (see diskdruid for that).
    Double Dutch

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    6
    I don't know if you already know this,but make sure that all your hardware is supported for RH or there are drivers. I had no problems installing RH 7.3 with ME, but I have two hard drives one for linux the other for windows. I prefer the boot loader grub, I had problems using lilo when I was using RH 7.1. Grub fixed that when I upgraded.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    21
    10x all of u for the help .

    i have two partitions of 10 gb each.
    according to kisscool i have to resize th efirst one that contain the me edition.
    i dont think i can do it without reinstalling the win.
    i have read some installation guides the 1024 stuph is not mentiond there !!

    when i have tryed to install its stucked in the file transfer stage.

    big big prob..
    U CANT TOUCH WHAT U CANT SEE

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    6
    There are a lot off ways to do this.
    go to
    http://yolinux.com

  9. #9
    Try SOT Linux; it lives happily with ME.
    you can get the .iso from www.sot.com or Tucows

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •