Which Linux Should I Use??
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Which Linux Should I Use??

Banned

Which Linux Should I Use??

Okay, I've been using Windows for the last five years and now am interested in Linux. Problem is that I've hardly used Linux and don't have much $ to dish out and buy some expensive version. I have a AMD-K6 PIII (300 Mhz) box with 94 MB of RAM, I have 4.0 GB of disk space and am running Windows 98 on it.

Questions-

1. What version of Linux should I get?
    2. Can I get free version of Linux that is any good?
    3. Should I dual-boot or just have Linux?
    4. I have M$ Office and other programs designed for Windows, can I get them for Linux without spending lots of $?

All advice will be helpful!

The Iceman Cometh
    1) For someone new to Linux, I suggest either Red Hat or Mandrake (I prefer Red Hat)

2) Yes, almost all Linux distributions are free, so if you get a mainstream one, you'll be fine

3) It's up to you... if you only have one computer, I'd recommend dual booting until you are familiar enought with it to be able to do everything you need on Linux.

4) MS Office will run fine with Wine (a program for Linux). If you don't want to buy it, check out Sun StarOffice 5 (still free for download, thought 6 costs money) or openoffice.org

AJ

Banned
    you can use Slackware or Suse Linux and theirs some programs like Star Office is like office but for Linux and o ther M$ utilities and progs.

Banned
    you can download a free copy here www.linuxiso.org or you can go to www.mandrake.com then go to
    download section.

Banned
    A further question to this:

How well does M$ Office work through Wine? Last
    time I checked(a year ago?), Star Office didn't have
    all the functions I needed and my Excel-files didn't
    translate correctly...

The Iceman Cometh