Port Scanning yourself

Thread: Port Scanning yourself

Port Scanning yourself

I use ZoneAlarm which I find to be very good. I tested it using the ShieldsUp website which told me that my ports were all hidden.
    But I tried port scanning myself and some ports showed up and the scan wasnt shown by ZA.

Maybe i'm missing the point as I'm still pretty new to this.

Also, how is the IP Address of a certian person found, or are port scans just massive scans of a certain server?

Port scanning yourself isn't particularly reliable. It depends on what your security settings for zone alarm were. I think zone alarm is setup by default to allow your nic to address any port it wants and that is probably why you saw ports that were open when the ShieldsUp didn't. I suspect if you look at your security settings, you will find that the NIC is permitted access to anything. If not, list what the settings are (sanitize any ip's/names), and I will help you have a looksee.

Neb
    There is only one constant, one universal, it is the only real truth: causality. Action. Reaction. Cause and effect...There is no escape from it, we are forever slaves to it. Our only hope, our only peace is to understand it, to understand the 'why'. 'Why' is what separates us from them, you from me. 'Why' is the only real social power, without it you are powerless.

(Merovingian - Matrix Reloaded)

On the same not, port scanning from the local host won't reflect accurately because : firewalls are often configured to deny the inbound access on a port. an external scan will see the port as closed from the outside. When coming from inside the machine, the firewall will allow access out on the port to establish a connection to permit you access to various network services (ie https, ssh, telnet, ftp, pop3, etc.)

Hope that helps.
    \"I believe that you can reach the point where there is no longer any difference between developing the habit of pretending to believe and developing the habit of believing.\"