Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Firewall Assistance Question

Firewall Assistance Question

Ok, I'm a complete newbie, so I suppose this is the proper area for me to post. If I'm wrong, my apologies in advance.

Next, let me say that I did a search in an attempt to find the answer to my question, but I'll probably be reading for years on this subject (port scan), AND in addition to having just jumped into this with both feet, I'm failing to understand probably 75% of the content already posted. I'd like someone to either point me to a complete newbie section/thread/website that explains in laymen terms or take the time to pm an explanation or post one here. Also, I'd like to thank you in advance for your help. Now, for my experience and questions:

After using the firewall for 2 days, this is the first time this has happened. My firewall dinged, chimed, and posted a message of:
    Blocked Port Scan Attack!
    I can't recall now what I clicked, but I guess it was right. Then again I recieved that same message, only moments later, and clicked whatever again. I figure I've either goofed now and let what ever port scans do do, or the port scanner has moved on.
    Out of curiosity I checked the alert in my log and it reads:
    ...blocked an attempt to attack your machine using a "Port Scan" attack. The remote address associated with the traffic was... (IP address here)
    (IP addresses I recognize because of my dabblings with spam tracing).
    I looked up the address thinking maybe it was mine, but it belongs to a server out of Colorado called Inflow.net.