Gentoo Linux

Thread: Gentoo Linux

Gentoo Linux

A friend of mine just started running Gentoo linux. This newish (or at least to me) distro has cought my eye, and now im thinking of installing it on another box to play around with it. I was just woundering if anyone has used it and/or had any problems on it. I am still a newbie linux man and would this be to advanced? Just wanting a little background info before I get my feet wet. thanks alot

Gentoo is a very advanced distribution which is not designed to be easy to use. It is probably easy enough to use once it's installed, but seeing as a reasonable install with X, Mozilla, etc, takes at least a day of computing time on a fast machine, it's not a piece of cake.

On Gentoo, everything on the entire system is compiled at installation time. Some items, like the kernel, only take a relatively short time to build, but the heftier things which are still necessary, notably gcc, X and mozilla, take an absolute age.

There is also a strong probability that somewhere along the line you'll find a package which FAILS to build, which may need a knowledge of C, C++ and/or gentoo's build system to fix.

It's a very clever system, but I don't use it because I like my box to *WORK* - and not take hours to set up a basic command-line-only system (I use Mandrake despite having used Linux for 8 years)

I would really recommend that newbies to linux get the other distros going first, it is probably also quite useful to have a 2nd working linux box during a gentoo build (espcially for 'net access because you will need to download stuff; if your main box is halfway through a build and has no networking, it can be difficult)

The gentoo people have made it as easy as possible - for a source-code only distro.

If you're an experienced developer, have some time on your hands, and have another linux box on your LAN, go for it by all means. I know a couple of people who've done so, and it does seem very nice.