Win2k dual network card trouble
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Win2k dual network card trouble

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    49

    Win2k dual network card trouble

    setting up a firewall i have two nic's (realtek 8139 or something its at home im at work) and (linksys lne100tx) the linksys is connected to my cable modem and the realtek is on the local connected to my lynksys router/used as switch problem is the linksys wont get an ip it keeps using the bogus 164. one and the lights on cable modem just blink maybe those cards dont work well together? anyone that can help please .

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    82
    Ok..
    first make sure that your cable is connected (check for the link light)
    second i would try to reset the modem so it can get the right mac address from your NIC.

    I would try that first!

  3. #3
    Banned
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    1,462
    Did you bridge the connections?

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    49
    i have reset my modem a couple of times. all lights come on but the cable light blinks .
    acid please elaborate.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    112
    are you sure you have link between the devices. It sound like you are using dhcp to assing an ip address to the nic that is attached to the network. as a recomendation this should be a static ip assignment. this is going to be your gateway for your network and a dhcp assingment can change. Not that it will but it could. Not sure if this is your situation but it is a recomendation. have you check the cables and know they are good? there just isn't much information here to go on so just shooting in the dark...
    My other Computer is a 4000 node Beowulf Custer

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    49
    hmm i belive my problem is the fact that the nic card connected to my cable modem is not working both nics have been in machines by themself but not together i tryed to get them to work on my linux box but i couldent even get the light to come on . now in my win2k box they come on . but its not connecting . lights are on and the bios sees them now at least just cant get it to grab ip from cable modem .

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    144
    two things--

    one being that i found when doing ICS with win2k was that's it's VERY important to NOT have a default gateway set for the NIC that is connected to the LAN. The external (Cable modem side) network should be setup normally. Just don't input the default gateway in for the internal NIC. Or you could actually go through the ICS wizard which will setup these settings and skip the DFG on the internal nic for you.

    the other being that a friend of mine told me that his cable modem setup required inputing the mac address of his linksys router into the modem. Now, i don't know how this was done. But i do know that it's not all that uncommon. You might want to call your isp and tell them that you changed computers and can't get the new one to get an ip.. they may tell you that this needs to be done and tell you how..

    if neither of these help.. sorry.. i work better hands on.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    1,027
    Did you use a crossover cable between the modem and your firewall?

    Ammo
    Credit travels up, blame travels down -- The Boss

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    49
    Thaks g00n that sounds like something to checkout im at work now but ill check that at home im pretty sure they just use the mac of my cable modem on my isp side but still good help thanks a lot.

    no crossover cables

    thanks for the help everyone

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    1,027
    I meant it like most/many cablemodems require a crossover cable...

    How was your cablemodem connected before? Right into your linksys router?

    Ammo
    Credit travels up, blame travels down -- The Boss

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •