Linksys firewall router
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Linksys firewall router

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    2

    Linksys firewall router

    Does anyone have a way to recover or get into these things. I took over consulting a company and they don't seem to have the password to their router. I don't want to reset to factory defaults and play catch up with what might have been configured on here.

  2. #2
    The Iceman Cometh
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    1,210
    Honestly, you'll probably have to reset it, sorry. You can always try the default password (check the manual to find out what it is). Otherwise, if that doesn't work, you'll just have to reset it. It's not like there are too many settings that need to be changed. There are only a few screens to go through to configure it. Just reset it and you'll be set.

    AJ

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    233
    I would see if you could get your HR group/person to call the network admin that was there before... assuming they are the one that set it up.

    if they can't get the password from that person then you will probably have to reset it and go from there. Like avdven said it's a pretty easy set up and there shouldn't be too much to configure.

    Good luck.



    El Diablo

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    2
    Thanks guys. I just hoping to not go through the week of users gradually coming up with, oh this doesn't work now and junk like that. Oh well life in the big city as they say.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    458
    Sorry..I forgot you said it was a Linksys. Please disregard this post

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    2
    I just set one up for somebody.
    Out of the box, the default was "Administrator", <blank> (no p'word)
    You could always try that.

    Loki

  7. #7
    Username <blank> Pass Admin

  8. #8
    Senior Member faust's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Chicagoland/Murphysboro
    Posts
    105
    Linksys befsr41 default username: blank password: admin
    default password list

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    167
    I agree with trying the default username and password. The defaults on my linksys router is,
    username admin
    password admin

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides