How Secure Is NTFS?

Thread: How Secure Is NTFS?

Question How Secure Is NTFS?

I am just starting to get into Linux and a buddy of mine gave me a copy of Knoppix Linux. This is a full Linux installation that installs from a bootable CD and runs entirely in RAM. You just stick the CD in the drive, boot the box and you are running a full installation of Linux, complete with KDE 3.0 desktop, tons of apps like Ethereal, OpenOffice, GIMPÖ and the list goes on. But here is the scary part. You can boot any NT/2000/XP box that uses NTFS security with Knoppix, mount the hard drives and access any file or directory regardless of NTFS security settings! Then when you are finished you just eject the CD boot the box to its native OS leaving no tracks behind. It is amazing how a file system that is touted as being all about security can be accessed with such ease!
    Thank God for encryption!

Like I mentioned earlier, I am new to Linux so this is probably nothing new to you guys, but does anyone know how you can tighten up NTFS security without implementing EFS?

NTFS is a big step forward from FAT 32 but its only a file system witch means it can be read by any ntfs compatible OS. The security in NTFS is about protecting files from users and not other OS's. Unfortunately itís really hard to secure a computer if a hacker has physical access to it without encrypting the whole hard drive.
    Its not software piracy. Iím just making multiple off site backups.

You don't understand the security fonctions of a file system: