Filemon and Regmon Utilities

Thread: Filemon and Regmon Utilities

Post Filemon and Regmon Utilities

This will be my first tutorial, so bare with me while I try to get this out in an acceptable fashion. Some time ago, two tools were revealed to me that would make my job much easier. These two freeware tools are called filemon and regmon. They can be found at Sysinternals’ website here . As a Technician, I worked in an almost pure Windows 2000 environment, where the enduser workstations were locked down and permissions to the local machines are kept tight. Very few of them have Administrative rights to their local boxes. However, even with the runas command, software installations can prove difficult with such restrictons in place.
    Some programs need to be able to write temp files to different locations on the machine in order to function properly. This would, naturally, be done using the logged in user’s credentials. If they do not have sufficient permissions on the PC, the program may not work as expected. The same goes for the registry. Some programs also require a certain level of access to the registry. However, the Engineering Team would, of course, want to maintain the restrictions as closely as possible. Enter filemon and regmon. These tools allow you to capture all disk access and registry activity as it occurs on the local machine. You will first need to download the tools from the Sysinternals website, of course. Since the operation of both is the same, I will only mention filemon as an example.