Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: putting together a home network...and im just learning...help please?

putting together a home network...and im just learning...help please?

Im going to be putting together a network consisting of 4 computers...two desktops and two labtops. What should I do for the best
    system? What operating system would be the best? Wireless or with cables? And what kind of Web connection should i get, cable, dsl, etc...??
    Any and all help would be appreciated...thanks

That is all personal preference on wireless or cat 5. The internet connection depends on what is available to you. For starters I would use Windows 2000, connected through an "8" port hub just in case you plan to expand. Then I would go with what is available for internet access. If you need more detail, please feel free to PM me. I'll walk you through it step by step.

Ok now let's see the OS I would go with a newer version of Linux like redhat but if you don't know much about Linux then go with Microsoft. As far as connection I would go with cable or DSL that would be what I would get. About wireless or cable if you can do it nice and neat i would use cable just for the simple fact that I don't know much about wireless.

If you choose Linux here is a good link to learn about home networks www.redhat.com/apps/search/results.html

If you must choose Microsoft here is a good link for you http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/e...ies/july30.asp

Good Luck!

Today is the past, tomorrow is now!

I wouldn't say wireless or cat 5 is purely preference.... there are (at least in my book) some serious security issues with a wireless network. I know there are people who will say that wireless is secure because it checks mac addresses and uses encryption, blah, blah..... but I follow the principle that if it can be made, it can be cracked. Those mac addresses or anything else can be spoofed.