Mandrake or Redhat???
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Mandrake or Redhat???

Mandrake or Redhat???

I'm a Linux newbie,and have been doing a little research into what would be best for me.I've come to the conclusion that I should probably start with either Mandrake or Redhat,but don't know which one.What are the primary differences in the two?Which is easier to use?Which is better security-wise?What do you all use,and why?I found a similar thread to this,but a lot of responses left out why they use the version of Linux they use,and that's what I really need to know.
    [shadow]I don\'t believe in anarchy.If you\'re not smart enough to beat the system it\'s your problem. [/shadow]

Hmm, im not to familiar with mandrake, but I can say that red hat is pretty good to start out on. 7.3 has a very nice installer, almost as nice as YaST on SuSe. It was the first version of Linux I ever used, and it was enough to get me hooked. Since your starting out with linux, my advice would be to go pick up a Linux For Dummies book, they usually come with a distro of linux on cd, and mess around with that. Hope this helps you out some, and good luck!
    You're not your post count, You're not your avatar or sig, You're not how fast your internet connection is, You are not your processor, hard drive, or graphics card. You're the all-singing, all-dancing crap of AO
    09 F9 11 02 9D 74 E3 5B D8 41 56 C5 63 56 88 C0