Thread: Need some help

Need some help

some guy or girl or group hacked my webpage, replaced the index.html file with one they edited to say "You have been paid a visit by us... thanks lanley and ^Mo-Shiza^."

I assume that those at the end are nicknames from mirc.

How do i stop this, and how did they do it?

Seeing as im posting in the newbie section, this obviously means im a newbie, so step by step instructions on prevention and offensive routines please.

Thanks!

Jeff

Web Page Hacked

Maybe you could use a firewall if you don't already have one. I guess it depends on how they got in. Have you checked your logs to see if there's anything there? Maybe you could research some file integrity software just in case it happens again, but you should probably make sure you harden your box. Since I do not know what your current configuration (OS, webserver...) is, it would be hard for me to help too much. You could check into hardening your webserver on Google . We will help as much as possible though. One thing you will find here is that people like to see you do some legwork (no offense intended), but you can definitely find help.

The first question is: Where is your web site? Is it hosted at your ISP or are you running your own web server?
    First, let’s assume your web site is hosted at your ISP. Contact the ISP and let them know what has happened. Give them a little time to figure out what has occurred and then ask them what they have done to resolve this issue such that it won’t happen the same way again.
    Now, let’s assume you are running your own web server. In order for use to steer you in the right direction, we need some basic information. What OS are you running? What web server application (Apache, IIS) Version numbers will also help.

Are you hosting your web page on a home network with a cable/dsl connection? If so then you need to set up a firewall on to block all unwanted access, and you must harden your webserver with necessary patches.