Help please
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Help please

Help please

I am running Win ME at work and lately it seems as though I have a virus. I have run online virus scans, norton's 2000 scan both in safe mode and not in safe mode. My norton's will run through in safe mode but not completely in regular mode. It tells me it could not run the scan due to a fatal error but does not give me the error.

I ran scans off Symantec's home page, downloaded a couple of viri fixes. Nothing showing up anywhere.

The reason I am going through all this is that on a 40 GB hard drive it shows that I have used 30.0 GB and that is up from 24.0 last week. I have removed programs not added them and can't figure out why else my machine is losing memory. It has also been running slowly as of late.

We are not on a network, we all share one computer under one name, we are a small business,. We are on a cable internet connection.

I am a complete newbie to this obviously. Any help would be greatly appreciated and if you require more information let me know.

try www.pcpitstop.com
    thier online scanner isnt directly affected by viruses so it may find it.
    also google the cleaner, by moosoft.
    Remember -
    The ark was built by amatures...
    The Titanic was built by professionals.

isnt that just the needless space windows takes up ?

no seriously check all your programs you have installed for stuff that is large in file size that is fairly new also check this tool http://www.vtoy.fi/jv16/shtml/regcleaner.shtml this will let you look through and remove programs items from your registery

also do a scan disk and a defrag to clear up bad clusters

hope this helps

EDIT i IMO i dont think it is a virus have you downloaded stuff from dodgy websites lately or email attachments etc
    By the sacred **** of the sacred psychedelic tibetan yeti ....We\'ll smoke the chinese out
    The 20th century pharoes have the slaves demanding work
    http://muaythaiscotland.com/