crash course...

Thread: crash course...

Post crash course...

Ok, I know everyone here has prolly had something like this happen to them. It's Murphy's law... It seems that everytime my boss desides to take a trip, I get presented with a situation I have no idea how to handle. But I somehow work through it pretty well... I'm feeling pretty good about what I did and how I handled it...

Sorry if I bore you... I had to tell someone and none of my friends care nor know what the hell a router is...
    They know beer pong...

On monday I recieved a call saying that one of my branches was down. (I work in a bank) I'm like... ok, the frame is prolly down. I'll call telco. and have the ciruit checked.

I call them and they confirm that indeed the frame is down. So, I tell them to work offline and go about my usual morning routines... changing backup tapes, checking logs, returning phone calls, usual stuff...

2 hours later it is still not up, so I call telco back. They say it is now up.
    It wasn't. So I drove out to the site and see no rx/tx LEDs flashing on the router. The LAN was working just fine. I'm convinced that its the telco., as was everyone else in my department.

My boss already left for a business trip in FL. He is the only one who knows routers where I work. We are a small team. Only 3 people. One is MIS, My boss is IT and I'm a little of both. I am an "Informations System Assistant" still in training. I'm going to school for IT and MIS. (Networking, programming, and tyring to learn security on my own.)

Well, I get the telco out there to make sure that it was indeed me and not them. It was me... The lines were just fine. I couldn't figure out what the hell was wrong. The router logs had alarms all over them. I called Motorola and they say that the line was most likely bouncing.
    I knew it wasn't because the telco just left.

I hooked up a modem to the router and had support dial in.