Win32 Programming
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Win32 Programming

Banned

Win32 Programming

I'm just getting into Win32 programming with C, and have noticed some funny things. Using Win32 you can shut down a computer, play around with drives, and other neat stuff. What is there to stop an evil prgrammer from exploiting these commands?

outside of needing access to the mach or getting someone else to run it on the machine...not much. virus protection does look for devistating lines of code and does provide a measure of protection.
    Bukhari:V3B48N826 “The Prophet said, ‘Isn’t the witness of a woman equal to half of that of a man?’ The women said, ‘Yes.’ He said, ‘This is because of the deficiency of a woman’s mind.’”

More than likely, they are already patched since I think that form of programming is sort of outdated, I could be wrong though. I'm reading a book called "Windows 32 Programming For Dummies" and so far it has helped me learn it. I'm into learning alot of outdated or old material since I generally have a basic to advanced understanding and knowledge of today's usual stuff (VisualBasic, PHP, Perl, C/C++). I've been trying to learn, as I said, some old things so I can increase my knowledge and to see how some older programming languages started out. Anyways, my advice to you would be to read a few books, search for some e-books or tutorials, and to be a little more forward with the question (Sorry, I didn't understand part of it).

Also, what Tedob1 said is true, because with the right firewalls, virus protection, and the common means to security, it wouldn't be easy to exploit. Remember, mostly every program has a vulnerability or way to be exploited.
    Space For Rent.. =]

Re: Win32 Programming

Originally posted here by Ajchez