So where do I start

Thread: So where do I start

So where do I start

Hey,

I am new to this hacker thing and want to find a place where i can learn from the best. Anyone interested in showing someone the rope. I am a web designer and dont know much other than I just got a cable modem into my place and installed a firewall that tells me that people are always trying to hack into my system. Two things I want to know.

1. Ho do I track someone if I have their IP address to find out who is trying to hack into my machine?

2. How does one try to hack into another machine? Is their any software or what?

I am way ew to this stuff but am also WAY interested.

Thanks - by the way nothing malicious just plain curiosity.

- Envision

http://www.ryanandcaryn.com/portfolio/

read the FAQ

HI,

First of all welcome to the site you have certainly picked the best security site around.
    However make sure you read the FAQ as you should be clear about how to post and to phrase your questions etc.

just some friendly advice

this is not a hacking site as the media would term it but a security site. I fyou ask how to hack a machine or anything else along those lines you will just get flamed and get negative points.

make sure you look at past threads to see if your question has already been answered and also research your question on the internet first so you can make your question more informed etc.

make constructive and menaingful and mature posts.

hope this helps and hope you stick around and enjoy the site as much as everyone else here !

live well and love life
    Our destiny is to endure all hardships that we encounter along the path to what we perceive to be true and worthwhile !

The Head foundation
    Please give generously

Ans. 1. Do a search for reverse ip lookup on google. Plug in the ip address, fire off an email to said ip's internet service provider and send the logs as well.
    Ans. 2. Yes.

Now a question for you, what firewall are you using?