HP-UX groups/newgrp quirk

Thread: HP-UX groups/newgrp quirk

HP-UX groups/newgrp quirk

Has anyone ever seen this situation in HP-UX:

/etc/group:
    lp::7:root,lp,trnadm

trnadm# groups
    bin users

As user trnadm, I'm in the groups file under the group lp, however when I run the groups command on the command line, I don't show up in that group. When I try to use the priviledges of that group I get denied. However, when I use the newgrp command, I'm suddenly in that group. I thought that if I was in the groups file in a specific group, I'm always a part of that group. I've never used the newgrp command before. Does anyone here have experience with it? How does it work? Is it something to configure on install?
    /* You are not expected to understand this. */

PHP/PostgreSQL guy
    The newgrp command basically switches your current group-id to a new group-id and only if you are in said group. If you're not, you'll get a failed message similar to 'Sorry'. What appears to be the case is that the groups command for you is a buggy output as you belong in the group lp but it doesn't show. If newgrp works though, you're good to go.

Disclaimer: I haven't worked too much with it and I don't know exactly why you'd be failing on a group-based job when you have access to it (permissions, etc).

Let me know if you need more help though! HPUX is my thing!
    We the willing, led by the unknowing, have been doing the impossible for the ungrateful. We have done so much with so little for so long that we are now qualified to do just about anything with almost nothing.