formatted hard disk

Thread: formatted hard disk

formatted hard disk

Actually I am new to this place, and there is something that is bothering for a long time.
    After formatting the hard disk, we can still retrieve the data. How is this ting possible. Can anyone help me out, I want to know about it.

Hi mom!
    I'm by no means a forensic expert, but this is how I explain this kind of data-recovery to myself. Please, correct me if I'm wrong, but I think it goes something like this:

By formatting your harddisk, you don't remove all data. The only thing you do is remove all data-entries (compare it to removing your housenumber from your house). Your computer can't find the data anymore, and flags that section of your harddrive as 'empty, I can overwrite this stuff', but the actual data still resides on that spot (as long as it isn't overwritten). If you, somehow, restore the 'housenumbering', you'll be able to restore your data.
    I wish to express my gratitude to the people of Italy. Thank you for inventing pizza.

Ft. Myers, FL
    It depends on the type of formating that was done. Most formats are "quick" formats. They only rewrite the allocation tables and leave the information out on the disk. Because the allocation tables are empty the data area is "considered" empty so new files can be created and the old information is overwitten. There are utilities and formating options that will overwite the data and make it unavailable or at least harder to retrieve. If you want to make the data go away permanently you can get a "wipedisk" utility that will overwrite the data multiple times. This is may be required as there are companies that can retreive data from a wiped disk if the data has not been overwriten sufficiently.
    Work... Some days it's just not worth chewing through the restraints...