Firewall with KAZAA
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23

Thread: Firewall with KAZAA

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    5

    Firewall with KAZAA

    Hi,
    I have a question about a firewall with kazaa. On my work we use a firewall. What kind of program or utility do I have to get to prevent from logging in with KAZAA.

    I also don't know what has to be changed in the options tab.

    I do not know which ports are open or closed.


    Please help me,
    Mike

  2. #2
    It's a gas!
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    699
    I dont fully understand the question, but if you're trying to connect to Kazaa from your workstation at work, which is behind a firewall and you're not the net admin then youve no chance!

    Correct me if im wrong!

    r3b00+

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    5

    explanation

    I am the boss of my school, some kids keeps trying to get to kazaa. It seems to work everytime. What does they know what i don't know what kind of options did they change then, the port/IP options? I thought that it wasn't possibl, but does anybody know what to do?

    Mike

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    98

    opps!

    you have not said anything about the os,firewall that you use so i can not tell you what to do or what is done..

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------As far as the laws of mathematics refer to reality, they are not certain, and as far as they are certain, they do not refer to reality.-- Albert Einstein

  5. #5
    Old-Fogey:Addicts founder Terr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    2,007

    Re: Firewall with KAZAA

    Originally posted here by yellowwebber
    I have a question about a firewall with kazaa. On my work we use a firewall.
    So the firewall is already set up.
    What kind of program or utility do I have to get to prevent from logging in with KAZAA.
    So you want to PREVENT people from logging in with Kazaa?
    I also don't know what has to be changed in the options tab.
    I do not know which ports are open or closed.
    So are you asking to get PAST the firewall, or are you asking to help make the firewall BETTER?

    I'm assuming you want to get past it, just on the basis of the tone of your post. I would research the possibility of using SOCKS and a proxy. But I'm not really in the mood to do a whole tutorial on common networking terms in order to help. The best answer? Don't do it from work, do it from home.
    [HvC]Terr: L33T Technical Proficiency

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    339
    I have a question about a firewall with kazaa. On my work we use a firewall. What kind of program or utility do I have to get to prevent from logging in with KAZAA.
    I am the boss of my school, some kids keeps trying to get to kazaa. It seems to work everytime. What does they know what i don't know what kind of options did they change then, the port/IP options?
    Interesting. Let's get this straight. Do you want to prevent the kids from logging in to Kazaa with your firewall OR do you want to know how to login to Kazaa from your firewalled network?

    Peace always,
    <jdenny>
    Always listen to experts. They\'ll tell you what can\'t be done and why. Then go and do it. -- Robert Heinlein
    I\'m basically a very lazy person who likes to get credit for things other people actually do. -- Linus Torvalds


  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    5
    I want to prevent the kids from logging in on KAZAA, but we give , how do I put it, different shows/musicals with the kids and the music that I want to use is easy to find with KAZAA, so I would like to log in myself, but only I have permission.

    That why my question for the settings for KAZAA, there has to be a way to log in on KAZAA with a firewall connected?

    Thanks,
    Mike

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    98

    !!!!!!!!!!!

    if ya the admin you know what to do ,i got this feelin that you are one of those kids who
    wants to pass the school firewall and...........................


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    5
    I'm sorry, do you know who you are talking to, I think i'm triple the age of you dear friend.

    I hope you didn't mean that. Why can't someone ask a question and someone thinks he has the hole world.

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    405
    Originally posted here by yellowwebber
    I'm sorry, do you know who you are talking to, I think i'm triple the age of you dear friend.
    There have been a rash of questions like this lately, which have involved circumventing firewalls to use programs such as Kazaa. People are allowed to be suspicious of queries like these. Attitude won't help get you an answer

    -toad

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •