Changing operating systems
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Changing operating systems

Banned

Question Changing operating systems

I am currently running Windows XP and I want to try something different like Linux. Which would you choose to go with for a total newbie Mandrake Linux Standard Edition, or Suse Linux 8.0? Thanks

Linux Mandrake and Linux Redhat are good for newbies and people who have used Linux before, but If your a Linux newbie I would definitely go with one of those two, maybe Mandrake. If you need help with installation, pm me.
    Space For Rent.. =]

i would suggest installing caldera workstation for newbies
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"Which would you choose to go with for a total newbie Mandrake Linux Standard Edition, or Suse Linux 8.0? Thanks"

Suse or Libranet. Libranet is a Debian woody based Distrubution it's the easiest Linux distrubution to install there is they charge for there latest version 2.7 but they do have a free 2.0 ISO you can download it's out of date but it can be updated with apt-get upgrade and some modifications new Kernel ect. When you buy they provide full support.
    If you want a bleeding edge system Mandrake is the one for you

Banned
    Either SuSe or Mandrake, whichever you choose, would be good for you and a good way to start off the "Linux-era" for you.

Banned
    caldera workstation
    I didnt realize how many different Linux operating systems their are. So I'll guess I will go with Suse 8.0 is there any thing I should know about before installing this like do I have to have a network card? Video card? Sound Card? Will I be able to access the internet with this new Operating systems? Help newbie lost!

caldera workstation