Question about Router Identifying
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Question about Router Identifying

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    2

    Question about Router Identifying

    I am wondering on techniques to indentify certain routers?

    This is just something I'm doing at my school, and I am wanting to identify the type of router they are using and what version of software they are running.

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    2

    Question about Router Identifying

    I am wondering on techniques to indentify certain routers?

    This is just something I'm doing at my school, and I am wanting to identify the type of router they are using and what version of software they are running.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    371
    There is usually a version command you can use when your logged onto a router. With Cisco Routers, you can type the command:

    sh version

    Sometimes you can determine the type of router from the login prompt, but I am unaware of any ways to determine what type/vesion of router it is without actually logging on to it.
    SoggyBottom.

    [glowpurple]There were so many fewer questions when the stars where still just the holes to heaven - JJ[/glowpurple] [gloworange]I sure could use a vacation from this bull$hit, three ringed circus side show of freaks. - Tool. [/gloworange]

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    371
    There is usually a version command you can use when your logged onto a router. With Cisco Routers, you can type the command:

    sh version

    Sometimes you can determine the type of router from the login prompt, but I am unaware of any ways to determine what type/vesion of router it is without actually logging on to it.
    SoggyBottom.

    [glowpurple]There were so many fewer questions when the stars where still just the holes to heaven - JJ[/glowpurple] [gloworange]I sure could use a vacation from this bull$hit, three ringed circus side show of freaks. - Tool. [/gloworange]

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    30
    if u do find out it is a Cisco router i found a fine little article in 2600 that will allow you to overflow the router then have full configuration access which im guessing is what u want. if you would like more details just send me an AO msg and id be more than happy to give u a full description
    If you can cheat and get away with it you deserve to win

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    30
    if u do find out it is a Cisco router i found a fine little article in 2600 that will allow you to overflow the router then have full configuration access which im guessing is what u want. if you would like more details just send me an AO msg and id be more than happy to give u a full description
    If you can cheat and get away with it you deserve to win

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    1,207
    Some ciscos had a port that you could send crafted packets to to determine which version it was. This was strictly considered to be a bug (and easter egg for cisco's own people or software?)

    Try a telnet fingerprinter (which will identify a particular brand perhaps?)

    Alternatively have a look at SNMP. If it's enabled read-only for community "public", you might be able to read the IOS version regardless of who the manufacturer is.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    1,207
    Some ciscos had a port that you could send crafted packets to to determine which version it was. This was strictly considered to be a bug (and easter egg for cisco's own people or software?)

    Try a telnet fingerprinter (which will identify a particular brand perhaps?)

    Alternatively have a look at SNMP. If it's enabled read-only for community "public", you might be able to read the IOS version regardless of who the manufacturer is.

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    14
    Nmap has OS detection that goes beyond OS. Check it out, tells you router brand and verison. www.nmap.org

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    13
    u should use SNMP manage your router.

    fingerprinter is only identify OS.

    but SNMP is not security,it is use plaintext .

    at a large network is offen use.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •