erm... DSL & Linux, can they be combined?
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: erm... DSL & Linux, can they be combined?

  1. #1
    er0k
    Guest

    erm... DSL & Linux, can they be combined?

    I feel like a n00b here, i know this will require a router and all that jazz, i was wondering if smoothwall was any good? Any suggestions about installing this would be greeaatt. Gotta get that server back up.

  2. #2
    er0k
    Guest

    erm... DSL & Linux, can they be combined?

    I feel like a n00b here, i know this will require a router and all that jazz, i was wondering if smoothwall was any good? Any suggestions about installing this would be greeaatt. Gotta get that server back up.

  3. #3
    Leftie Linux Lover the_JinX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Beverwijk Netherlands
    Posts
    2,534

    Hell yeah !!

    erm... DSL & Linux, can they be combined?
    Hell yeah !!

    About the smoothwall I don't know.
    I just use iptables !!

    Some DSL's need a little bit of software to run, some run instantly. But a http://www.google.com/linux search on ur DSL provider should help.
    ASCII stupid question, get a stupid ANSI.
    When in Russia, pet a PETSCII.

    Get your ass over to SLAYRadio the best station for C64 Remixes !

  4. #4
    Leftie Linux Lover the_JinX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Beverwijk Netherlands
    Posts
    2,534

    Hell yeah !!

    erm... DSL & Linux, can they be combined?
    Hell yeah !!

    About the smoothwall I don't know.
    I just use iptables !!

    Some DSL's need a little bit of software to run, some run instantly. But a http://www.google.com/linux search on ur DSL provider should help.
    ASCII stupid question, get a stupid ANSI.
    When in Russia, pet a PETSCII.

    Get your ass over to SLAYRadio the best station for C64 Remixes !

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    65
    Heh, I never saw www.google.com/linux before. I tried www.google.com/mac just for kicks, and it worked too...

    [edit] google.com/bsd too, but google.com/ms leads to some wierd thing... Bahasa Melayu ring any bells? [/edit]

    No BeOS yet though, unfortunately. :-(

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    65
    Heh, I never saw www.google.com/linux before. I tried www.google.com/mac just for kicks, and it worked too...

    [edit] google.com/bsd too, but google.com/ms leads to some wierd thing... Bahasa Melayu ring any bells? [/edit]

    No BeOS yet though, unfortunately. :-(

  7. #7
    Senior since the 3 dot era
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    1,542
    Offcourse it works. You can alter iptables or just use an old box like a firewall/router box. You will need a 486 or better mobo, some ram, 2 nic's and a floppydrive. There are several solutions possible depending on your ISP. Some use PPPoE, if this is the case you will need a PPPoE program on your desktop if you use iptables or a router / gateway that supports PPPoE. Roaring Pinguin has a free PPPoE program to connect your linux box to ADSL providers http://www.roaringpenguin.com/pppoe/
    BBIagent has free linux based router software that can handle PPPoE. www.bbiagent.net

    the linux PPPoE project page:
    http://www.suse.de/~bk/PPPoE-project.html

    some nfo on how to set such a linux router config up:
    http://www.speedcorp.net/linux/homelan/

  8. #8
    Senior since the 3 dot era
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    1,542
    Offcourse it works. You can alter iptables or just use an old box like a firewall/router box. You will need a 486 or better mobo, some ram, 2 nic's and a floppydrive. There are several solutions possible depending on your ISP. Some use PPPoE, if this is the case you will need a PPPoE program on your desktop if you use iptables or a router / gateway that supports PPPoE. Roaring Pinguin has a free PPPoE program to connect your linux box to ADSL providers http://www.roaringpenguin.com/pppoe/
    BBIagent has free linux based router software that can handle PPPoE. www.bbiagent.net

    the linux PPPoE project page:
    http://www.suse.de/~bk/PPPoE-project.html

    some nfo on how to set such a linux router config up:
    http://www.speedcorp.net/linux/homelan/

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    651
    Thanks for the information guys. I was thinking of dual-booting my machine at home. It's currently running XP Home, and I always wondered how to go about getting Linux to work with ADSL. This was perfect for me!

    Thanks again.
    Opinions are like holes - everybody\'s got\'em.

    Smile

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •