Thread: Fall in I.T jobs for graduates...

Exclamation Fall in I.T jobs for graduates...

As a Computer Science student, I do find this quite worrying:
    Information technology graduate employment tumbled 7.3% from 79.9% to 72.6% in 2001
    The computer industry downturn is blamed for most of the 0.8% rise from 5.5% in 2000 to 6.3% in 2001, according to data collected by universities.
    Full story here - http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/education/2439951.stm (but it deals with jobs after graduating in the UK on the whole)
    So I ask, has anyone who has just graduated found difficultly in gaining employment in the I.T sector? Would it be easier to get a part time job with an I.T company during my studies at University, with a view to full time employment after graduation, or do those who currently have jobs in the I.T sector believe that it's possible to waltz into a job after university, provided the grades are there?
    I\'m drunk, and right now I\'m so in love with you.

Yes, there is a slow down in the IT industry world wide. As I also a student of B.Tech. (IT), this is giving me lot of worries. But, on the contrary, there has been reports in the newspapers that there is going to be a boom time again in the IT industry a the near future. This thing is indicated by the recent upsurge in exports by Indian IT industries and thier increase in revenues.
    Hi! I am new to these forums.......

I can tell you that most of this is due to the stock market crashing.IT company's got hit pretty hard in the US,and that in turn affects the rest of the world.Companys were/and still are going bankrupt left and right.It will all likely change soon though,and the IT industry will need more employees than ever.

To answer your question directly,having the experience of a part time IT job during college will definately make finding a full time job in the industry easier after college.