Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: SquidView?

  1. #1
    Some Assembly Required ShagDevil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    New Jersey


    Anyone familiar with SquidView? My firewall keeps interpreting these connection attempts as attacks. I recorded the IP and did some searching on the web. It seems that this is some kind of recorder for any and all internet activity for a given connected computer(I think). I decided to block the IP ranges that were attempting to connect to my computer. Is this a bad idea?
    (If you are wondering, I recorded the domain name as us.a1.yimg.com but I couldn't bring up the website (if one even exists for this address). I'm not entirely sure what's going on here.

    Note: I searched the archives here for any related topics and did not find any. IF there was a discussion I missed, please inform me and I apologize for being redundant.

  2. #2
    () \/V |\| 3 |) |3\/ |\|3G47|\/3
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    I found this: yimg

    You may have already found it if you looked on google.

    Go Finland!
    Deviant Gallery

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    I did a trace on the IP you gave tha results are listed below... Did you download anything from Tucows recently??? If so you may have inadvertently gotten some form of Spy-Ware, or the program you downloaded isn't what it says it is... Hope this helps...

    NeoTrace Trace Version 3.25 Results
    Target: us.a1.yimg.com
    Date: 11/17/2002 (Sunday), 10:20:40 AM
    Nodes: 11

    Node Data
    Node Net Reg IP Address Location Node Name
    11 1 1 Boston a65-163-234-32.deploy.akamaitechnologies.com

    Packet Data
    Node High Low Avg Tot Lost
    11 201 201 201 1 0

    Network Data
    Network id#: 1
    Sprint SPRINTLINK-2-BLKS (NET-65-160-0-0-1) -
    NETAXS LLC FON-110126131278251 (NET-65-163-234-0-1) -

    ARIN Whois database, last updated 2002-11-16 19:05

    Registrant Data
    Registrant id#: 1
    The Data in the VeriSign Registrar WHOIS database is provided by VeriSign for
    information purposes only, and to assist persons in obtaining information about
    or related to a domain name registration record. VeriSign does not guarantee
    its accuracy. Additionally, the data may not reflect updates to billing contact
    information. By submitting a WHOIS query, you agree to use this Data only
    for lawful purposes and that under no circumstances will you use this Data to:
    (1) allow, enable, or otherwise support the transmission of mass unsolicited,
    commercial advertising or solicitations via e-mail, telephone, or facsimile; or
    (2) enable high volume, automated, electronic processes that apply to VeriSign
    (or its computer systems). The compilation, repackaging, dissemination or
    other use of this Data is expressly prohibited without the prior written
    consent of VeriSign. VeriSign reserves the right to terminate your access to
    the VeriSign Registrar WHOIS database in its sole discretion, including
    without limitation, for excessive querying of the WHOIS database or for failure
    to otherwise abide by this policy. VeriSign reserves the right to modify these
    terms at any time. By submitting this query, you agree to abide by this policy.

    Whois Server Version 1.3

    Domain names in the .com, .net, and .org domains can now be registered
    with many different competing registrars. Go to http://www.internic.net
    for detailed information.

    Registrar: TUCOWS, INC.
    Whois Server: whois.opensrs.net
    Referral URL: http://www.opensrs.org
    Name Server: ACCESS.AKAMAI.COM
    Name Server: YH.AKAMAI.COM
    Name Server: YF.AKAMAI.COM
    Name Server: YG.AKAMAI.COM
    Name Server: YD.AKAMAI.COM
    Name Server: YE.AKAMAI.COM
    Name Server: YB.AKAMAI.COM
    Name Server: YC.AKAMAI.COM
    Updated Date: 18-jun-2002

    >>> Last update of whois database: Sun, 17 Nov 2002 05:25:23 EST <<<

    The Registry database contains ONLY .COM, .NET, .ORG, .EDU domains and

    The previous information has been obtained either directly from the
    registrant or a registrar of the domain name other than VeriSign.
    NeoTrace Copyright 1997-2001 NeoWorx Inc
    \"Nuts!\"- Commanding General 101st Airborne Division Dec 1944 in answer to German request that he surrender Bastogne during the Battle of the Bulge
    Life has a certian flavor for those who have fought and risked it all that the sheltered and protected can never experience.- John Stewart Mill
    White, Hetrosexual, Christian male. I own guns, hunt, eat meat, burn wood, and my wife wears fur... Any questions?

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    if you have blocked the IP range that was trying to connect your computer don't worry try to find their email and write them a nottice that they disturb you. if that do not work find their ISP and send email too! that's from me, hope that i helped

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts