Thread: Exchange 2000

Question Exchange 2000

Hey, what's up everyone? I'm not sure if this is in the right forum or not so please forgive me if its not. I just installed Microsoft Exchange 2000 on my Win 2K server and I'm having a problem, already!!. Everytime I open up the Microsoft Exchange Administrator and I try to connect to my server, i get this error message:

A connection could not be made to the Microsoft Exchange Server computer "SERVER"

The Microsoft Exchange Server computer does not respond.

Microsoft Exchange Directory
    ID no: DS_E_COMMUNICATIONS_PROBLEM.

When I hit browse to look for my server I get this message:

The list of Microsoft Exchange Server computers is not available because no Microsoft Exchange Server computer could be located.

Microsoft Exchange Administrator
    ID no: c10312c8

I've never used Exchange before and I'd love to learn how to use it. I host my own site and I'd like to use Exchange as my mailer. Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks alot for your help in advance..
    \"Success is my only option, failure is not\" - Eminem

Just a Virtualized Geek MrLinus's Avatar
    I've never admin'd an Exchange Server but this might help..

http://www.dameware.com/support/faq/faq.asp?ID=FAQ1010
    http://support.microsoft.com/default...;en-us;q150880

Doing a search on Google with the error brought this out fairly quickly. Microsoft's Knowledge Base is an excellent site when troubleshooting installs and such.
    Goodbye, Mittens (1992-2008). My pillow will be cold without your purring beside my head
    Extra! Extra! Get your FREE copy of Insight Newsletter||MsMittens' HomePage

Did you actually name the server "SERVER"? Just from a security standpoint, thats not wise. Also, can you get to the machine by using an IP? Finally, make sure that exchange is running by checking your task manager, and also your services. If exchange isnt running, then obviously admin wont find it. HTH