Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Copyright

Copyright

Is there anyway that I can actively stop people using images from my site? I'm sure ive seen it before where copying is disabled.

Thanks
    Mama always said, keep your virus definitions up to date.

You can add in your site some java code to disable the right button of some navigators (I don't know if it can really work for another navigator than IE but it's not impossible) or even the bar with "file, edit..." but it will not really protect your pictures from anothers users than complete newbies in computer stuffs.
    You can also add some watermark to prove your copyright, but it can be bypassed easily with a picture editor.

In fact, you can't protect your pictures on your site. Don't publish them, it's the only way.
    Life is boring. Play NetHack... --more--

Even if you were to do all that... put watermarks, insert right click catching code, etc.

It would be very easy for one to just press the print screen button...
    Or even to browse through their cache folders...

I don't think there is ANY way to block someone from copying a pic from your site.

If someone wanted, they could just use a web site copier to dl your whole web site, and then they could weed out what they didn't want.

Thats all I can think of at the moment.
    Quitmzilla is a firefox extension that gives you stats on how long you have quit smoking, how much money you\'ve saved, how much you haven\'t smoked and recent milestones. Very helpful for people who quit smoking and used to smoke at their computers... Helps out with the urges.

Well that's the "problem" with digital media: you can't distribute content without it being a copy. So it's really technically impossible to prevent duplication. Look at the RIAA/MPAA effort in that way (urgh!). So you'd have to really on people's honesty and/or legal options (like the RIAA/MPAA is doing with the DMCA (urgh!).