remote webcam control

Thread: remote webcam control

remote webcam control

I just finished up reading The Art of Deception and he (Mitnick) spoke of software that remotely controls web cams and microphones.

I found this interesting because it would be a pretty easy way to monitor our computer rooms with out wireless technology. (don't trust wireless yet)
    Don't worry, I'm an admin of the site we want to monitor and we've spoke with management about it too.

I have searched a bit and can't find too much on this software. All I can find it places to buy the cameras. I don't know too much about webcams yet... have to do some reading.

What I wanted to know:

Is the software he (Mitnick) speaks of a virus/trojan or a legitimate program?

I haven't heard of viruses/trojans with this ability.

I'm unsure where to look for the software.

I'm not so much concerned with microphones as with the web cams.

If anyone uses webcams for monitoring purposes, I'd be interested in hearing how you set them up too and for what you monitor. I have a couple of ideas, but still interested.

I'm also interested in how to secure these web cams.

Thanks for your help in advace!!
    Quitmzilla is a firefox extension that gives you stats on how long you have quit smoking, how much money you\'ve saved, how much you haven\'t smoked and recent milestones. Very helpful for people who quit smoking and used to smoke at their computers... Helps out with the urges.

Ive seen webcams wit intergrated GNU-linux webserver/ controll servers inside.. all they need is power and a UTP cable..

I think I've seen them here, http://www.thinkgeek.com/computing/input/netcams/ but they are not cheap
    ASCII stupid question, get a stupid ANSI.
    When in Russia, pet a PETSCII.

Get your ass over to SLAYRadio the best station for C64 Remixes !