I'm New and Stupid, got any good advice?

Thread: I'm New and Stupid, got any good advice?

I'm New and Stupid, got any good advice?

I'm new to computer security. I don't know much of anything... I'm serious. Is there a good way to become knowlegeable in this? If so PLEASE HELP ME!

information should be free to all that seek it.

Read and play.

Make sure you go through the tutorials in the Tutorials forum. Also, hopefully you have access to a second machine with which you can play. If you see some subject in the tutorials which interests you, linux, packet sniffing, intrusion detection, jump right into it.

I think that starting a project is probably on of the best ways to learn. I do it fairly often, pick a somewhat advanced project, and start doing it. I invariably find all sorts of stuff that I need to know in order to work my way through the project. I always learn quite a bit.

Also, remember your best friend www.google.com

Good luck, and enjoy the journey,

A second computer that you can just try stuff on and format the hard drive every couple of days is an invaluable learning tool. As for where to start learning, TCP/IP is always a good start http://www.learntcpip.com/
    Its not software piracy. Iím just making multiple off site backups.

For computer security, AntiOnline is a great place to start, you may want to also check out http://eyeonsecurity.org/news/

Well, I would sugest that you read anything that interests you. Thats all I do, every day I visit google, my start page. I think of something that I would like to know more about, like one day I was interested in knowing what PHP was all about, I hered of it but never knew much about it, so I searched for "what is php" with the quotes, and from there I set up php on my own web server so I could play around with it.

A few people just mentioned tcp/ip so if you are interested in that you can use the site that was sugested or do your own google search on it.