Was i at risk all this time?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Was i at risk all this time?

Was i at risk all this time?

since i am running cable on this pc for quite some time now , i displayed all my connections and went into my cable stats.from there on the tab file and printer sharing was checked.i have had no knowledge whatsoever on this incident.Was there a chance somebody may have penetrated my file share and gotten into my pc?
    -N
    "Serenity is not the absence of conflict, but the ability to cope with it."

Its entirely possible that your system could have been compromised. Do you have a firewall installed or any other kind of protection? Have you noticed any files appearing or dissapearing that you never saw before? You might want to provide a bit more info so people can suggest you some ways to secure your machine a bit better.
    You're not your post count, You're not your avatar or sig, You're not how fast your internet connection is, You are not your processor, hard drive, or graphics card. You're the all-singing, all-dancing crap of AO
    09 F9 11 02 9D 74 E3 5B D8 41 56 C5 63 56 88 C0

Yes, a PC set up on the internet without a firewall, or without being locked down(as this one apparently was not, Q.E.D. it had file and printer sharing turned on)is always at risk.

Some performed a test once, and wrote an article from it( I forget who and where, and even the exact details) about taking a windows 98se box and putting it out on the internet and it being compromised in 18 hours.

if i were you id go get a good firewall, virus protection, format and reinstall.
    Bukhari:V3B48N826 “The Prophet said, ‘Isn’t the witness of a woman equal to half of that of a man?’ The women said, ‘Yes.’ He said, ‘This is because of the deficiency of a woman’s mind.’”

Some Assembly Required ShagDevil's Avatar