Security and Buisiness

Thread: Security and Buisiness

Antionline's Security Dude instronics's Avatar

Security and Buisiness

Hello to everyone

A little information on my situation:

I live in Greece and i am a security administrator in a small company that sells security systems as in home, shops, banks (alarms and cameras etc...). In this company we are trying to open a data security department for computer security such as antivirus, backups, maintanance, vpn, firewalling, encryption, physical security, server security and dedicated hosting. For you this might seem normal (depending on your location), but here in Greece there is no such thing as computer (data) security. Our main problem is to convince the people that there is a threat for companies, or any computer holding sensitive data. We are trying to market this idea....but with the mentality and the way things run around here its almost impossible to sell this product/idea.

I studied and learned my work in Germany, so i am aware of the dangers that can arise from badly unsafe misconfigured systems. At the moment more and more companies are depentent on computing, and online buisinesses. My question is......

How can we make people aware and/or believe that there is a threat, a need for data security. The people here want it, but are not ready to pay a cent for it (unless they would understand or take the threat for real). How can we sell a product that is essential nowadays but the actuall customers do not believe it.

So far we have tried to offer security auditions for thier systems, showing them how vurlnable they are (diff scans and retrieval of sensitive information). They were all astonished by the results that we brought to them, but it still was not enough to actually sell our product/ideas.

I would be very greatfull for any help, advice, and/or support on this subject.

If this thread is in the wrong place, then accept my apologies and let me know.