Thread: Closing ports on Linux box?

It's a gas!

Closing ports on Linux box?

Hi guys

I did an nmap on my RedHat 7.3 box last night and found a few ports to be open

Im at work at the minute so not sure of the port numbers but heres some of the services i have running on those ports:

smtp
    sunrpc
    kdm
    listen
    X11

Im still a newbie on Linux so im not sure what ports to close and how to do this manually!
    Im still in the process of fixing my kernel, so im unable to install a firewall, either by compiling or installing the rpm, so any help would be great!

Any other info yous may need, that ive forgotten to add, to help me just ask

Cheers

r3b00+

create a bash script that shuts the open ports with IPtables when you run it (eg)

touch firewall

vi firewall

./iptables -A INPUT -p tcp --dport 111 -j REJECT

and ad lines like that to all the ports that are open then chmod 700 firewall

you should also run a UDP scan on your box to,to see whats listening for UDP packets and just close those ports the same way exept replace TCP with UDP i will give you a file i used to create my iptables script if i see you in IRC or msn tonight

EDIT you should be in the /sbin directory because thats where the iptables command is if it isnt in your default path
    By the sacred **** of the sacred psychedelic tibetan yeti ....We\'ll smoke the chinese out
    The 20th century pharoes have the slaves demanding work
    http://muaythaiscotland.com/

It's a gas!
    Good man prodikal!

Thanks alot

Cheers

r3b00+

Find the process that's listening on a port using netstat -pant

Then you can either shut down the appropriate service (assuming you don't need it) or reconfigure it to not listen on tcp any more.

X11 and kdm can both be configured not to listen on tcp ports (their usage locally will still work) and the others may be able to be shut down.