Windows Socket Error
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Windows Socket Error

  1. #1
    Banned
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    33

    Windows Socket Error

    I'm trying to use a faxing software and when I go to send the fax I keep getting a Windows error that says "Windwos Socket Error". I'm told that I could have a corrupt windowssocket.dll file and that I need to replace it.

    Anybody heard of such an error and if there is such thing as a windowsocket.dll file?

    Thanks....

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    606
    nebuluswonderer,

    Are you sure the file is windowsocket.dll? Could you take a look at this and see if you wrote it correctly in your first post above?

    Thanks.

  3. #3
    Banned
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    33
    Yeah that is what what I have been told. If I get the "Windows Socket Error" that my windowsocket.dll is corrupt and to copy this file from another machine to the one that is giving me a problem. Thanks...

  4. #4
    Senior Member Zonewalker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    949
    if it IS your 'windows socket' dll file then the file you are looking for is actually called

    winsock.dll

    it's normally in c:\windows\system32

    I don't know what OS your using .,,, if it's XP the version number should be 3.10.x.x

    anyway if you have the system disks it's easy enough to replace whatever flavour of windows you have.

    Incidentally I've also heard that some 3rd party fax 'ware also replaces the comm.drv file as well... you may wish to take a look at that one as well IF replacing the winsock.dll file doesn't work

    hope it helps

    Z
    Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    606
    nebuluswonderer.

    Zonewalker is right and it you don't have winsock.dll on your PC it could be possible that you don't have the TCP/IP installed because when installed it puts the file called winsock.dll in c:\windows\system32. Check this.

    Good luck.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    112
    You might also want to do a search for all copies of wsock32.dll and winsock.dll on your hard drive. You may have the correct version in your system32 directory, but have an older or corrupted one in another directory that is located on your path which the fax software is finding first.
    If you receive something that says \'Send this to everyone you know,\' pretend you don\'t know me.

  7. #7

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    16
    well if your using win98 - you can removed dial up adapter from your network properties and removed the winsock2 folder from the registry under local machine - system - current controlset - services = then reboot and install dialup back in network properties = If another OS please post

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    72
    if you have installed the tcp/ip and the problem remains try this url: www.dll-files.com .
    it is a little bit easier than to copy the dll from the setup disk.one more thing:
    are you sure that the os you are running fully supports the fax program you have installed?
    i was wondering if there is a bug.

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    4,786
    you didn't say iFax so i assume youe talking anolog fax over a phone line. if your getting a winsock error in this case your software isn't configured correctly. regular faxing dosn't use tcp/ip. more details would be helpfull.
    Bukhari:V3B48N826 “The Prophet said, ‘Isn’t the witness of a woman equal to half of that of a man?’ The women said, ‘Yes.’ He said, ‘This is because of the deficiency of a woman’s mind.’”

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •