script kiddies and hackers, hackers and crackers?

Thread: script kiddies and hackers, hackers and crackers?

script kiddies and hackers, hackers and crackers?

in case anyone has not noticed i am new to network security, and due to the fact i read alot. i have have already completed 6 different books, among them being java in a nutshell, XML by example, and secrets of a super hacker.but none of the books ive read have given a good answear to one question, what is the difference between a script kiddie and a hacker, and whats the diff between a hacker and a cracker? ive read very vauge answears but i would like opinions from you guys.namely so i can avoid being the lesser of the evils. thanx in advance guys.

hatebreed2000,

Script kiddies download automated hacking tools from Internet sites and launch them against random blocks of IP addresses, looking for unprotected computers to play with. Then they use similar low skill tools to do whatever they please with your computer. The problem is, there are many thousands of script kiddies, and more every day.
    In the "nerdy" culture, a "Hacker" is a highly skilled computer geek who does "great hacks" (generally clever computer code). You will be told in no uncertain terms that the people who break into systems are called "crackers", that "hackers" are honest folks who would never, never do such a thing (even though they have no respect whatever for authority, business, government, laws, property, "suits", grooming, personal hygiene, mom or apple pie). OK, some wouldn't. Of course every "cracker" referrs to himself as a "hacker". Common usage lumps the whole lot under the term "hacker".

Bye.

Banned