linux question
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: linux question

linux question

As well as being a newbie to the security world i am a newbie to linux.which from what i read in a way go hand in hand.i know there is a "who is" command for linux but what about a "what is" i was told in a bbs that there is a what is command, but in my research i found no such command. so my question is, is there a command called "what is" and if so what things can be done with it and how do i use it? or was this person just trying to sound like a experianced user when he was no more then a newbie like myself? thanks for all replies.

Banned
    I've personally never heard of a whatis command, and I looked for it online and yielded nothing of any interest.

By the way, the whois command is not only applicable on a Unix/linux OS. You can do it from any other OS practically, as well.

By the way, the whois command is not only applicable on a Unix/linux OS. You can do it from any other OS practically, as well.
    Sorry to "piggyback" this thread, but I think this is relevant.

Jehnny: I know you can do this in most *nix OS's, but I have never heard of this for other OS's. I have tried it on my Win9x, Win2k and WinXP Pro boxes and didn't come up with anything. Is this an "add on"? Or do they not make something like this for M$?

Up until now, the only way I could verify someone was logged onto the network was to look in the server security logs. Or, you can look on the server to see who has what files open.

If netbios is enabled, you can do a: nbtstat -a machinename (to find out who is logged on too.)

I know of another way to determine which person is logged onto which system.

If you do a: nbtstat -R (to clear the netbios cache.)

Then use: net send user message

then you can use: nbtstat -c (to find out which machine that user recieved the net send on.)

This works even if the workstation has the messanger service stopped/disabled.

What are the other ways that you speak of?