Well, as the title said, this tutorial is for complete newbies who-are-not-able-to-start-windows-without-the-manual. In fact, it is the translation/adaptation of a tutorial I previously wrote for some friends, without the "left clik on the ok button" explanations (yes, my friends are not computer geniuses, they are in fact exactly the contrary).
I hope it will help some newbies.

What is GPG:
---------------

GPG is the the GNU version of PGP which is the most known and used cryptographic software around the world (generally in order to encrypt emails and various datas or to prove that you are really who you pretend to be). It means it is free and that the source code is publicly available (a good thing for security).
The official GPG site is here.
A tutorial about cryptography principles is here.
A tutorial about some aspects of PGP is here.

Installation and use of GPG:
----------------------------------

Download from the GPG site the latest stable version of the binaries for Windows. You'll quickly understand that it is a command line software, but don't worry. A good documentation is available here.

In brief, the most common operations you can make are:

- Create a new key pair: It's the first thing to do: create your personal key pair. The command is gpg --gen-key and the creation is performed by an interactive process which will guide you through the different steps (the choice of algorithms, key sizes, passwords and so on. Read the tutorials previously linked in order to understand everything).

- Encrypt a message: The command is gpg -e identification.of.the.public.key [message]. The "identification.of.the.public.key" is in fact something particular related to the public key you want to use like a part of the name or the email adress. And the "[message]" is the file you want to encrypt.

- Decrypt a message: The command is gpg [-d] [message]. Simply.