Networking DSL, Linux and Windows. - Page 2
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 15 of 15

Thread: Networking DSL, Linux and Windows.

  1. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    343

    DSL and more than 1 computer

    I do not know what type of DSL modem/router you have but if you have
    the real cheep modem, get a Linksys router, info available at www.linksys.com
    That is what I use. Cost starts at less than 80 dollars US and I have seen
    some real deals with them even at Radio Shack.
    They will handle PPOE and have the neat function of
    having a NAT type of firewall anda DHCP server.

    I use the same setup here and I have used just about every
    OS there is on my system Mac OS9 and 10, Lindows, RedHat,
    Windows 95,98,ME,XP, Net Beta, and 2000
    and I have 8-10 computers on my DSL all at the same time.

    I hope this helps
    Franklin Werren at www.bagpipes.net
    Yes I do play the Bagpipes!

    And learning to Play the Bugle

  2. #12
    Kwiep
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    924
    Originally posted here by t2k2
    Why would he need to allow inbound port 80? Are you setting up a Webserver MicorBurn? I must have missed that part. In this case, I believe you would need to setup port forwarding for port 80 if you are going to run a webserver just as neel suggested.

    t2k2
    Hehe yes he's running a webserver. I know he runs www.unerror.com (the one in his sig) at home. But well you couldn't know I knew, so thanks for correcting me .
    Double Dutch

  3. #13
    Developer Extraordinar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Internets
    Posts
    571
    Well, I got it set up, and frankly, it wasn't as hard as I excepted it to be. It turns out I had to install rp-PPPoe, and I had some peoblems with that, but I debuged it, and it turns out my configuration file was messed up. But, once I got it up and running it flet good. Thanks for all your help everyones. :-) It wasn't hard at all!
    Come to UnError.com

  4. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    651
    Cool, I'm glad it worked out for you Micro. Neel, I'm glad you cleared that up for me. I would have thought that it was a site that was somewhere else that he may have administered. One day (soon hopefully), I will get me a site up and running. I just don't know what I will put on it yet. Take care gang!

    t2k2
    Opinions are like holes - everybody\'s got\'em.

    Smile

  5. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    110
    hi

    good to know its working now! have fun.

    regards,
    mark.
    \'hi, welcome to *****. if you would like to speak to an operator, please hang up now.\'
    * click *

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides