Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: network problem

Antionline's Security Dude instronics's Avatar

network problem

Hello everyone....

I want to dedicate a computer as a firewall for my LAN using IPTABLES.

On the firewall machine i have 2 network cards running. eth0 (internal lan) has an ip range of 192.168.30.0 and eth1 (external lan) has an ip range of 192.168.20.0

eth0 also runs a dhcp server for the machines behind the firewall and eth1 is a dhcp client from the external lan (i want to seperate my lan into 2 networks, my main gateway is a zyxel isdn router on net 192.168.20.0 which also acts as a dhcp server for the firewalls eth1)

My main problem is that even if the firewall is not started, i cannot access the external lan from the internal lan, but from the firewall box itself i can ping both networks. Can it be that is a routing problem (im not very good with routing). I run SuSE linux 7.3 kernel 2.4.16

Incase its not a routing problem, what else could it be, im really a bit lost here about this subject. Any help would be really welcome.

I apologize if my problem is not directly security related, so forgive me if my post is not in the right place, please tell me if its in the wrong place too.

If I'm not mistaken you have to compile the routing into your kernel. (ip forwarding)

For your kernel (2.4.x), you need 'network packet filtering' and TCP/IP -> 'IP: Advanced Routing', to able to You will find these modules in 'Networking options'.

You probably need to configure a simple routing table or something like that.

I think you will find a little more information when you open the HELP-menu that comes with the two modules you need to compile in the kernel.

I'm sorry that I can't help you any further, but it was a long time ago when I configured my 'router'. I'm planning on upgrading it in the near future, but for now this is all I can tell you.

I hope this will help you.

It certainly does sound like a routing problem.